I just realized it has been a while since I have posted to the blog. So here is a quick update on what we have been doing.

April 20, 2009 (Monday) hubby started a new job. Z and I miss having him home but it has given Z and me some one on one time together that I just treasure!

April 27, 2009 (Monday) was a hard day for me. That was the day my mother passed away 20 years ago. I stayed to myself and very quiet all day and stayed on the verge of crying. I sure miss her so!

April 29 and May 1, 2009 (Wednesday and Friday) was a regular school day for Z but it was also teacher appreciation week. So he made each of his teachers a card and his two room teachers a bouquet of construction paper flowers made with Z’s hand-prints. I also went back to the allergy doctor on Friday, May 1, after taking 4 months off since we didn’t have insurance while hubby was in between jobs.

May 2, 2009 (Saturday) hubby took Z to Home Depot for their monthly craft. They kept it a secret from me. Wonder if it has to do with Mother’s Day. Then in the afternoon, I took Z over to his friend M’s house for a playdate. I really enjoyed getting to visit with M while the kids played. Later in the evening I had a scrapbook marathon with my friend D and T. D and I stayed until 5:30 in the morning. Only got 40 pages scraped. I had hoped to get more done.

Being sneaky!

Being sneaky!

May 3, 2009 (Sunday) we spent the day doing chores as we were having dinner guests. I cooked a big pot of spaghetti and made a big salad and served brownies for dessert. We had a really nice time visiting with C and D!

May 4, 2009 (Monday) was a rough day for me. I had the worst headache from a busy weekend and was running on very little sleep. The Elementary school where Z will be going next year had a “meet the teachers” event so I went to that and got to meet all the Kindergarten teachers. I am so glad I went!

May 5, 2009 (Tuesday) Z and I babysat for a couple friends all day. It was nice having someone at the house to play with Z. We took R with us to the dentist since Z had his 6 month cleaning appointment. Then once we got home, I was able to get caught up on laundry and it just felt good to be home. Later in the evening I took Z to Gattiland since hubby had a late night work meeting. We had fun!

Open wide!

Open wide!

Time for a cleaning!

Time for a cleaning!

Dr. Freeze checking things out.

Dr. Freeze checking things out.

Looks great!

Looks great!

May 6, 2009 (Wednesday) was Kindergarten registration at the Elementary where Z will go next year. So after Z got out of school I took him to the new school to get him registered. We went with my friend T and her girls. The kids go a tour of the school and was able to meet the Kinder teachers. After registration, I took Z to Toys R Us to pick out a toy since he was a big guy and was registered for Kindergarten. I was really trying to play up the new school since he is very apprehensive about going. He went up and down every isle until he picked out the perfect toy. While we were there I asked him to try out a bigger bike. He loved doing that! He tried out tons of  big bikes and rode around the store for about 30 minutes. I called hubby to meet us up there so he could look at the bike I wanted to get Z. Turns out it was/is too big but I still insisted. So we decided to tell Z that he had to learn to ride his current bike WITHOUT the training wheels in order to even get a new bike. After going out to dinner, we came home and took the training wheels of his current bike and he actually rode it some without my helping him. We were amazed because we had tried to work with him in the past but he didn’t want anything to do with riding without training wheels. I guess you will do anything when you want something bad enough (hence the new bike sitting in my living room.)

This one is nice but I want to try some more.

This one is nice but I want to try some more.

This is the one I want to get.

This is the one I want to get.

May 7, 2009 (Thursday) was a regular day at home. I took Z out to practice riding his bike without the training wheels. Then my friend M came over with C for a little while. It was so great to visit with her! She brought me a gift that her and Z made together for me for Mother’s Day. It was a beautiful apron with Z’s hand-prints as a giant sunflower. Apparently it was his idea! Thanks M and Z and hubby for arranging it all. After M and C left, we had lunch and went to art class.  Z drew a boy on a bike in art class. What a great picture! Then after art class we went to playgroup. We had to bring Z’s bike with us so he could show his friends that he could ride it without training wheels. He is doing really well and is so proud!

My Mothers Day gift from Z that he and M made.

My Mothers Day gift from Z that he and M made.

May 8, 2009 (Friday) after school I surprised Z and took him to the pool for our first time to go swimming this season. We had a blast! He did really well in the area where he could touch the ground. He didn’t use his life vest at all. We played and had a blast. Then when I pressed him to put his face underwater he had a fit. Once he calmed down I put his life vest on him and we went in the deeper part of the pool. That was when he decided to practice blowing bubbles in the water and stuff. Baby steps here 🙂 Then back to the shallower area and he took off the vest. It was so fun! After we got home he rode his bike some more and even after dinner we went to the high school parking lot to ride some more. He loved it and is really doing GREAT! When we started to leave, my car battery was dead so Mr R came to help us out. When we got home hubby went to the store for some ice cream and we had a nice treat before bed.

Having some fun in the sun!

Having some fun in the sun!

Yippee!

Yippee!

I am such a cool dude!

I am such a cool dude!

Kicking in the water.

Kicking in the water.

Leave a comment