Rank Advancement

Posted: June 20, 2013 in Being Silly with Mom and Dad, Cub Scouts

May 7, 2013: Cub Scouts work very heard throughout the school year to complete achievements in order to receive their rank badge. Z worked quite hard all year and earned his Bear badge along with several arrow points; one gold and 6 silver meaning he completed 70 extra electives on top of his required achievements. He also earned his Leave No Trace Award and Outdoor Activity Award patch. And of course he advanced to the next rank – WEBELOS. I am so proud of you Zachary! I am so proud that you have stuck with scouts since you were in the first grade. I know you will become an eagle scout if you put your mind to it! I can’t wait to see your scouting career grow! Love you!

Since I am the acting Cub Master for our Pack too, hubby and I came up with the “Advance-a-nator” for the boys to go though in order to transform into the next rank. We also made special t-shirts to give to each boy in the “advance-a-nator” and they would come out the other end as the next rank. So Z entered as a Bear scout and exited as a WEBELOS scout. It was so fun and the boys LOVED IT! I tend to do goofy quite well and I just love being silly. I even brought my new joke box to the meeting. The boys love to hate my jokes šŸ™‚

Flag ceremony time.

Flag ceremony time.

Calling the colors.

Calling the colors.

I am such a dork but the kids love it!

I am such a dork but the kids love it!

DSC_0163

My totally awesome joke box!

My totally awesome joke box!

His daddy is his den leader. Here hubby is presenting the awards.

His daddy is his den leader. Here hubby is presenting the awards.

Z receiving his leave no trace award, outdoor activity award, and arrow points.

Z receiving his leave no trace award, outdoor activity award, and arrow points.

So excited!

So excited!

Our den about to enter the advance-a-nator.

The Advance-A-Nator!

The Advance-A-Nator!

Z exiting the advance-a-nator. Dig that cool shirt!

Z exiting the advance-a-nator. Dig that cool shirt!

Our den showing off as WEBELOS!

Our den showing off as WEBELOS!

DSC_0307

The final thing Z had to do was make a poster and post it at a Pack meeting for the leave no trace award. His is the blue one on the right. His friend, J, did one also.

The final thing Z had to do was make a poster and post it at a Pack meeting for the leave no trace award. His is the blue one on the left. His friend, J, did one also.

So proud of his awards!

So proud of his awards!

Me and my boy!

Me and my boy!

Our new WEBELOS scout!

Our new WEBELOS scout!

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    You did an amazing job on the advancement meeting.

Leave a Reply

