Been very sick

Posted: December 31, 2010 in General Information

I have neglected my blog for quite some time because I have been very sick. Here is a quick run down of what has happened and I am still sick. This has been a very hard December for our house. I missed so many activities. I am so grateful that my wonderful husband stepped up to make the holiday season fun for Z. It is very heart breaking when your kid only wants his mother to be better for Christmas and keeps asking for a Christmas miracle.

I had been coughing like I normally do every year due to allergies so I didn’t think anything of it. But finally on Dec. 7 I couldn’t stand it any longer so went to the doctor. Got a bunch of medications to help but in the end none of them helped.  The coughing was so bad I ended up in Urgent Care the following day. Got tons more medications.

I went to a holiday pot luck party on Dec. 9 and by that evening I had a horrible bout with food poisoning. And to top it off, Z had another horrible ear infection. So hubby had to rush home to tend to us both.

Woke up the next morning covered in hives that looked like my body was doused in gasoline and lit on fire. I was covered head to toe pretty much and it itched like crazy. Back to Urgent Care – allergic reaction to medications. Well the vomiting didn’t ever stop from the food poisoning so later that night after being at Urgent Care I ended up in the Emergency Room. Got tons of IV fluids because I was so dehydrated plus tons of medications for the vomiting, etc. And while I was there I even got a breathing treatment because of the horrible coughing. Fun night. Thank goodness for my friend, S, for taking Z for the night.

I stayed in bed that whole weekend still very sick and vomiting and stuff. Slept for many hours. Hubby took Z to see Santa at the YMCA and stuff. I was sad I couldn’t go. After being in bed all weekend and not eating or drinking because of the vomiting, etc, I ended up back in the doctor’s office for more IV fluids and medicine. They couldn’t shake the food poisoning which now at this point probably was a stomach bug. Who knew.

Days went by and I was still in bed. Friends helped with Z and hubby took care of the house for a week. I was taken to many doctors in the meantime and still can’t figure out what was going on. I ended up at a ENT doctor and he did a nose scope to determine I had LPR, which is stomach acid in the throat. Turns out that is what all the coughing is about. But it will take some time to get it under control with medication because my stomach is so messed up from the food poisoning and the bug.

In the middle of all of this, B was very sick and Z had two ear infections. They both were in Urgent Care as well. I am so nervous to see all the medical bills for the last two months of 2010! I hope 2011 rings in much healthier for us all!

Beautiful flowers from my sweet Grandma A to wish me well.

Comments
  1. crystal says:

    I am so sorry that you have been so sick. I remember that your allergies are bad this time of the year but it sounds like they have hit you extra hard this year. I hope you get to feeling like your smiling self soon.

Leave a Reply

