Z’s big robot birthday bash

Posted: February 23, 2009 in Being Silly with Mom and Dad, Birthdays, Playgroup, Weekend Activities

Ok, Z officially turns 5 on February 25 but we had his party on the 21st. I rented the community center in our neighborhood and invited all the kids from playgroup and a few kids from Z’s school. We had 35 kids come and about 25 adults – maybe more. My dear freinds D, M and her hubby R, and my mother in law, C,  helped me set up the center. Hubby worked on setting up the computerized robot. Thanks everyone for all your help!

I had the perfect craft planned for the kids – building their own robots from boxes and toilet paper rolls I had wrapped and prepared for them in grocery sacks. There was tons of stuff to glue on the robots and tons of glue and tape. It was so fun to see all the cool creations the kids andparents came up with. It was funny that the engineering dads were the ones really getting into the craft 🙂 My friend C helped Z assemble his robot as I was taking pictures and inviting late comers to build robots. Hubby was working the computerized robot and music.

Hubby had built 3 robots total; 2 were for decoration and one super fantastic interacting robot. It had a camera on it and a monitor in the belly where the kids could watch themselves on tv. There was super fun music playing really loud out of the robot and it even talked to the kids in a silly voice. He tried to get it to print out pictures for the kids but that function was not working properly. Oh well, they loved it the way it was and didn’t know any different. Those kids loved dancing and acting silly in front of the robot. Talk about fun times!

I also had a blow up bouncer there and a few games as well. These items were outside and the kids seemed to enjoy them all too.

We played pin the button on the robot. My nephew drew the robot for me and I think he did a great job! Thanks K! The kids loved this game. And some of them even asked to go again. Each kid was given a bracelet for playing.

Of course we had cake and ice cream. I had purchased 2 huge cakes and I am glad I did….they were a big hit. I also made some yummy punch that my dear friend T would make when I lived in Oregon. I think everyone liked it but apparently they would have liked it even better had I added vodka to it 🙂

Next came presents. At this age kids love to watch the birthday kid open their present so each kid waited ever so patiently. I had the kids sit in a circle around Z and he had such a great time opening all the wonderful things his friends brought for him. And Z was such a gentleman and thanked each guest for the gift before opening another one.

Last but not least was the over filled pinata. My nephew and niece helped me with this robot pinata. Thanks K and C. That pinata was stuffed to the top with candy and a huge bag of confetti. Hubby rebuilt the pinata to make it have a string for each kid to pull. They loved that! There was a shower of candy/confetti. I think they may have had more fun playing with the confetti than collecting the candy. Don’t get me wrong….all the candy was gone!

When the party was over all my friends and their husbands helped us clean up everything. I was so amazed at all the help! I didn’t even ask for it. Thank you everyone for all your help with the party. It was a huge success!

After the party was over we went to dinner with D and her family. Z picked the Olive Garden. I was given the best gift at dinner when Z gave me a big hig and kisses and said “thank you for the best birthday party ever!” I just melted! What a sweet little boy! And your welcome my dear! Daddy and I love you very much!

Cake and punch area.

Cake and punch area.

Polka Dot Robot.

Polka Dot Robot.

Pin the button on the robot game and the 80s Robot.

Pin the button on the robot game and the 80s Robot.

Computerized robot.

Computerized robot.

People gathered to make robots of their own.

People gathered to make robots of their own.

C helping Z with his robot.

C helping Z with his robot.

Z getting funky and watching himself on the screen.

Z getting funky and watching himself on the screen.

Playing in front of the robot.

Playing in front of the robot.

Cake time. Mom had to hold the lighter with both hand because her shake is so bad.

Cake time. Mom had to hold the lighter with both hand because her shake is so bad.

Blowing out candles on the chocolate cake.

Blowing out candles on the chocolate cake.

Blowing out candles on the white cake.

Blowing out candles on the white cake.

Not pleased that he did not get the first piece of cake. Sorry sweetheart! I really am!

Not pleased that he did not get the first piece of cake. Sorry sweetheart! I really am!

Presents and more presents.....

Presents and more presents.....

Look Dad this looks cool!

Look Dad this looks cool!

I just love opening presents! Thanks to all my friends!

I just love opening presents! Thanks to all my friends!

Get the candy!!!! Then play with the confetti!!!

Get the candy!!!! Then play with the confetti!!!

There was lots of candy and confetti!

There was lots of candy and confetti!

A view after pinata time.

A view after pinata time.This is the robot Z made. Great job!

Leave a Reply

