My Sweet Painter!

Posted: October 9, 2008 in General Information

Today we pulled the paints out and I let Z paint in my craft room while I planned to work on some things. I didn’t get much done since I spent most the time watching him paint and I took a ton of pictures. Of course I planned on posting a few pictures on the blog but I was in no way ready for what was to come.

My wonderful hearted son painted a red smiley face and told me, and I quote, “This is a picture of your mom and I painted it for you so when you look at it you will still think she is alive.” I totally melted! Then to top it all off, he painted an orange smiley face and said, and I quote, “This is a love picture for your mommy even though she is dead.” WOW! How amazing is that?

Now some background, I am an only child and I was VERY close to my mom. You can imagine how shocked I was when I got the call that she suddenly passed away in 1989. She was a very depressed soul and I will just leave it at that…..you can only imagine what she did. It seriously took me 5 years to be able to talk about her passing without crying so violently! I think I was looking for someone to blame instead of her. Anyway, so my son has never met my mother but we have talked about her. He knows she is his Grandma P and that she died because she was very sick and is now in heaven.

Z and I haven’t spoken of my mom in a while so you can imagine how shocked I was to hear such sweet words come out of his mouth when he was painting. I couldn’t hug my son fast enough. And after that sweet hug, he was so proud to have done such a great thing for his mom. Honestly I must say, that will be a moment I will always treasure! And the pictures will go in a special frame! I am getting a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes just writing about this. So I must close for now….enjoy the photos!

This is the first picture Z painted. It is a pumpkin with a tree and falling leaves.

This is the first picture Z painted. It is a pumpkin with a tree and falling leaves.

 

This was a picture Z painted for his best friend A.

This was a picture Z painted for his best friend A.

Z painted this for his daddy.

Z painted this for his daddy.

My sweet painter! And yes, he did end up with paint in his hair.

My sweet painter! And yes, he did end up with paint in his hair.

This is a picture of your mom and I painted it for you so when you look at it you will still think she is alive.

Z said this when he painted this for me: This is a picture of your mom and I painted it for you so when you look at it you will still think she is alive.

This is a love picture for your mommy even though she is dead

Z said this when he painted this picture: This is a love picture for your mommy even though she is dead

Me and Z after he painted the first picture about my mom.

Me and Z after he painted the first picture about my mom.

Comments
  1. A's Momma says:

    What a special little soul he has and what a special memory and treasure he gave you today. I am so sorry that you lost your mom, but I am so glad that you are still able to share a part of her with him. Again, how special. And you know, him being so special and sweet is no accident. He has no choice, he has some fantastic parents 😀

  2. Rosalyn says:

    What an amazing sense children have of when we need a little pick me up. Your special memories of your mom will live through the ones you create with Zachary.

Leave a Reply

